ACT Historic Places cares for three significant heritage-listed sites: Lanyon, Calthorpes' House and Mugga-Mugga.

ACT Historic Places wish to acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land that Lanyon Homestead, Calthorpes' House and Mugga-Mugga are located, the Ngunnawal people. The Ngunnawal people maintain a close connection with this area and we respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the protection and preservation  of this landscape, and the life of the Canberra region. We also  acknowledge and welcome other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who have a connection with this area.

Lanyon Homestead is a must-see for visitors to Canberra looking to experience the region’s and Australia’s settlement history. The Lanyon grounds are beautiful and popular for picnics and family celebrations.

Calthorpes’ House provides a rare and engaging insight into the domestic life of Australia in the mid 1900s.

Mugga Mugga Cottage provides an authentic setting to reflect on how life was lived on the Limestone Plains before Canberra was established.

ACT Historic Places is renowned for delivering high quality community and school learning programs.

Our sites include well-cared for collections of national significance that provide a rare community asset for enjoyment, education and research.

Both our sites and their collections are managed according to the priniciples of the Australia ICOMOS Charter for Places of Cultural Significance, The Burra Charter, 2013.

Historic Places Advisory Committee

The Historic Places Advisory Committee is responsible to the Board of the Cultural Facilities Corporation for providing expert strategic advice on the conservation and interpretation of the Historic Places In this role, the Committee advises on how the we can provide cultural leadership, excellence and innovation in the conservation and interpretation of ACT’s Historic Places, in recognition of their cultural heritage significance.  

The Committee may be invited to provide advice about other aspects of the functions of the Historic Places from time to time. In performing the above role, the Committee serves as a valuable link between the ACT Historic Places and the wider community.

Current ACT Historic Places Advisory Committee members

Call for Expressions of Interest for :
Membership of Advisory Committees of the
Cultural Facilities Corporation

The Cultural Facilities Corporation (CFC) is a statutory enterprise of the ACT Government that manages the following major ACT cultural assets on behalf of the community :

  • the Canberra Theatre Centre;
  • the Canberra Museum and Gallery, including the Nolan Collection; and
  • three historic places : Lanyon, Calthorpes’ House and Mugga-Mugga.

In accordance with the Cultural Facilities Corporation Act 1997, the CFC has three advisory committees to assist it in its functions.  The Advisory Committees play a significant role in the work of the CFC and make an important contribution to its functions and activities.

The committees are :

  • Canberra Theatre Centre Advisory Committee;
  • Canberra Museum and Gallery Advisory Committee; and
  • Historic Places Advisory Committee.

Information about the operation of the Advisory Committees is set out in the Advisory Committees Charter at CFC Advisory Committees Charter June 2021.

The CFC is undertaking a full renewal of its Advisory Committees and is making new appointments for a three-year term.  It welcomes Expressions of Interest from people who have relevant experience and expertise, and who are interested in serving as a member of one of the Advisory Committees.

The CFC actively encourages Expressions of Interest from women; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people; people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds; people who identify as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer; people with disability; and people of different age groups.

If you would like to be considered for membership of one of the CFC’s Advisory Committees, please send an email with a summary CV (maximum of two pages) and a short statement (maximum of one page) describing your suitability for the committee(s) you are interested in, to maria.wallace@act.gov.au by cob 6 August 2021.